Zmud

This is a place for newbie players to come and discuss problems they are having specifically, address any issues regarding the game not covered sufficiently in the help files, and any other newbie-helpful discussion (though please do NOT discuss details of quests, subclasses included, nor tell people how to play in this thread. Those topics will be promptly removed.)
Post Reply
User avatar
Kentar
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:50 pm

Zmud

Post by Kentar » Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:53 pm

How many of you folks use Zmud?

Thats what I am currently using and Im having trouble with the mapper and triggers.


Mapper- Is there a way that you can open a door with the mapper? For example, if I was at the Fountain in town and wanted to go to the topiary, there is a gate to have to open. Is there a way within the mapper to set it up to automatically open the gate everytime I go to that room?


Triggers- I have the basics pretty much nailed down. But like splitting coins... I have trouble understanding the instructions within the Zmud help files.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :P
User avatar
Clar
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:56 am
Location: you are a figment of your imagination.
Contact:

Post by Clar » Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:32 pm

i was using zmud, but it stopped working and i dont know how to get it going again. that's why i dont really play anymore. if anyone can help me fix it....
Laich
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 12:20 am
Location: The devils right hand.
Contact:

Post by Laich » Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:16 pm

If all is lost and it doesn't function properly, try uninstalling it
then install again, usually corrects any problems. This of course
is considering either you have a Key from buying the product
or at least a stolen one (so to speak).

An alternative would be:
http://www.download.com/SimpleMU/3000-2 ... 84616.html

By all means this is free and for a fair price it has extra features.
I have personally used a previous version of this product and
it has worked well, happy mudding.
-Laich

I am Becoming
User avatar
Kentar
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:50 pm

Post by Kentar » Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:10 pm

*bump*
User avatar
Pergus
Posts: 1787
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 8:59 pm
Location: Your imagination

Post by Pergus » Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:00 am

There is a way, don't recall it off the top of my head exactly however, on how to open doors, etc with the automapper. Check the help file, its pretty extensive.

Alternatively... what I use to do was just alias it (zmud alias, not the crappy mud one)

You can use walk parsing, object manipulation, etc in one little alias and viola... there ya go

(ie - alias dfp = .des3en; #8 drink fountain; .3n; look at board) So when I log in, I go fill up and read the board with four easy keystrokes. (that is... when I actually use zmud *shrug*)

Personally I've grown rather lazy as far as keeping up with the latest crack for zmud goes so I just started using putty or telnet.

Back in the day when I was skipping classes to level up my druid I use to know the directions to everywhere I would frequent by heart... which really works best when you're not at the central focal point of your alias/path/script/whathaveyou.
Pergus - Rick Sala passed away June 21 2006..
***************************************
Pergus Tynllyr
Megalomaniac :twisted:

AIM: Daroowise
MSN: Daroowise - netzero.net
Yahoo: Daroowise
Web: http://www.arende.net/personal/
User avatar
Clar
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:56 am
Location: you are a figment of your imagination.
Contact:

Post by Clar » Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:43 am

bah, putty/telnet. very annoying, you cant see what you're typing.

as for zmud *sigh*, i was going to take laich's advice on that one. then i realized that it's too late now, cuz zmud is on MY computer, and i no longer have internet on that computer *long story*, and cant install stuff on any other computer for the time being *grumble*. once i move, in a couple of months, i will hopefully be able to get zmud working again. in the meantime i shall have to struggle with telnet when i need to satisfy my mud cravings.
Cerworn
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 4:37 pm
Location: Colorado

Post by Cerworn » Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:26 pm

With Telnet windows, you just have to turn on the echoback. You might have to do the same with Putty (which is all I use) but I don't remember.
Blessed Be,

Cerworn, Daughter of the Mother Goddess
User avatar
Pergus
Posts: 1787
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 8:59 pm
Location: Your imagination

Post by Pergus » Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:12 pm

yea... you can turn an echoback feature:

Under the terminal category, set local echo to force on... viola
Pergus - Rick Sala passed away June 21 2006..
***************************************
Pergus Tynllyr
Megalomaniac :twisted:

AIM: Daroowise
MSN: Daroowise - netzero.net
Yahoo: Daroowise
Web: http://www.arende.net/personal/
durran
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:10 am
Location: Hamilton ga
Contact:

Post by durran » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:23 pm

yes just wish zmud had a free xp client
Im rich Beyotch.
User avatar
Acerite
Build Master
Posts: 468
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Floating amoungst the clouds

Post by Acerite » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:08 pm

it does, it's called ask acerite for the hack....or you can bug pergus i'm sure :P
Acerite Grethinaki
Lord of the Sky
User avatar
Pergus
Posts: 1787
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 8:59 pm
Location: Your imagination

Post by Pergus » Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:07 pm

Hack?!?!... who, what... huh? I know nothing about zMUD v6.16, or the hack that allows you to put run a fake registry program via proxy (proxy.exe from the fine folks at DAMN), thusly registering said program... nope, nothing at all.

Matter of fact, I don't even know where the ftp server for both the proxy.exe and full version of v6.16 are... nope, not a clue. So, don't PM asking if you're interested 'cause it wouldn't be like me to be into software piracy or illegal activities of the sort.
Pergus - Rick Sala passed away June 21 2006..
***************************************
Pergus Tynllyr
Megalomaniac :twisted:

AIM: Daroowise
MSN: Daroowise - netzero.net
Yahoo: Daroowise
Web: http://www.arende.net/personal/
User avatar
Acerite
Build Master
Posts: 468
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Floating amoungst the clouds

Post by Acerite » Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:42 am

heh, see what i mean :wink:
Acerite Grethinaki
Lord of the Sky
Anupta
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 4:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Anupta » Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:23 pm

Why not use the split command in the mud for splitting coins?
>_<
durran
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:10 am
Location: Hamilton ga
Contact:

Post by durran » Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:43 pm

because that would be to easy.
Im rich Beyotch.
Post Reply